Rune Central
http://runequake.com/forums/

e1m7 crash?
http://runequake.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=847
Page 1 of 1

Author:  sputnikutah [ Fri Aug 19, 2005 4:08 am ]
Post subject:  e1m7 crash?

Ive noticed on my system that any version of joequake/qrack/tremor crashes on completing map E1M7.. just as its trying to switch maps... anyone else get this crash?

Author:  Baker [ Fri Aug 19, 2005 4:29 am ]
Post subject: 

QRack 1.52 ---> single player --> beat chthon + exit = no crash
QRack 1.52 ---> multiplayer --> timelimit 1 --> wait 1 minute = end --> no crash

JoeQuake 0.14Dev --> I've played E1M7 in multiplayer enough to know it doesn't crash @ end of E1M7

Author:  Lightning Hunter [ Fri Aug 19, 2005 3:19 pm ]
Post subject: 

Just tried it in regular Joequake in SP. Didn't crash for me. Maybe it's a setting or the mod you are using?

Author:  sputnikutah [ Fri Aug 19, 2005 7:16 pm ]
Post subject: 

Thanks for the replies, but I found that if i started with a basic config it didnt crash, (i worked 2 days trying to find the bug in the source!) will narow down the bug in MY cfg and correct it.. :O

here's some things im working on... for next release...

Decals on particle contacts with world... explosions, nailmaors, shotguns, blood etc.. works but decals appear over sparks and new explosions :/

disble the windows keys via a cvar
internal help manual and syntax help for all commands..
unalias, aliasedit, aliaslist commands
clean up some menus...

I just got the quake3 source and will dig thru it for ideas >:)
(hopefully clean up md3 code)

starting basic code for internal server browser...

anything else??

________________________________________________
http://www.quakeone.com/qrack

Author:  Jozsef [ Sat Aug 20, 2005 7:14 pm ]
Post subject: 

damn i remember i had this problem but fixed long ago...
but god damnit i dunno what caused it!!! :(
probably some qmb effects but i cant be sure

Author:  sputnikutah [ Sun Aug 21, 2005 3:39 am ]
Post subject: 

Joe,
I've found the culprit. its cl_truelightning..!
setting that below 1 and the game crashes as mapchange afterwards before loading start map. Not sure why... will look at it :O

Author:  sputnikutah [ Sun Aug 21, 2005 4:10 am ]
Post subject: 

okay,

this fixed it...
in cl_tent.c
void CL_UpdateTEnts (void)...
modify this...
Code:
if (cl_truelightning.value){

to this..

Code:
if ((cl_truelightning.value)&&(ent->model->name == "progs/bolt.mdl"))
{
...


:)

Author:  Jozsef [ Wed Aug 24, 2005 8:08 am ]
Post subject: 

nah okay that was the old code that was freezing yes.
The new version contains the patched code which you and Justin wrote(?). I found it on the tremor forum and updated my code with that and it works just fine since then.
Your fix probably works on e1m7 but it would fail with shambler bolts imho. Not a matter though coz it's fixed already as i mentioned.

Author:  sputnikutah [ Thu Aug 25, 2005 7:38 am ]
Post subject: 

Hmm, I'll have to see what JT did in tremor...

Few things im working on ...

celshading is in (source online) *done*
revamped the decals code, ties directly into the particles engine.*done*
(decals still dont clip to edges yet.)
Cleanup code for MH's automatic water transparency...
Reckless was talking about optimized md3 code, by filtering out the interpolation on static models.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/