Rune Central
http://runequake.com/forums/

Lightning bolt glow
http://runequake.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=499
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Tribal [ Mon Aug 23, 2004 12:42 am ]
Post subject:  Lightning bolt glow

hum... i want to make the lightning-bolt (from shambler and lightning-gun)glow with a blue light (like in mhquake)... but i have no luck so far :(

do you have any tips for me?

Author:  sputnikutah [ Mon Aug 23, 2004 1:38 am ]
Post subject:  dynamic glow

try this:
Code:
void CL_ParseBeam (model_t *m)
{
   int      ent, i;
   vec3_t   start, end;
   beam_t   *b;   
   
   dlight_t   *dl; // ADD THIS
   
   ent = MSG_ReadShort ();
   
   start[0] = MSG_ReadCoord ();
   start[1] = MSG_ReadCoord ();
   start[2] = MSG_ReadCoord ();
   
   end[0] = MSG_ReadCoord ();
   end[1] = MSG_ReadCoord ();
   end[2] = MSG_ReadCoord ();

   // by joe
   if (ent == cl.viewentity)
   VectorCopy (end, playerbeam_end);   
   // override any beam with the same entity
   for (i=0, b=cl_beams ; i<MAX_BEAMS ; i++, b++)
   {
      if (b->entity == ent)
         {   
            b->entity = ent;
            b->model = m;
            b->endtime = cl.time + 0.1;
            VectorCopy (start, b->start);
            VectorCopy (end, b->end);
             //LG GLOW --START
            dl = CL_AllocDlight (0);
            VectorCopy (end, dl->origin);
            dl->radius = 100;
            dl->die = cl.time + 0.1;
            dl->decay = 300;
            dl->type = lt_blue;
            //LG GLOW --END
            return;
         }
   }

// find a free beam
   for (i=0, b=cl_beams ; i<MAX_BEAMS ; i++, b++)
   {
      if (!b->model || b->endtime < cl.time)
         {
            b->entity = ent;         
            b->model = m;
            b->endtime = cl.time + 0.1;
            VectorCopy (start, b->start);
            VectorCopy (end, b->end);
            return;
         }
   }

   Con_Printf ("beam list overflow!\n");   
}

Author:  Jozsef [ Fri Aug 27, 2004 3:29 pm ]
Post subject: 

excuse me, but this looks horrible when gl_flashblend is 1 (guess you use 0). The best would be the corona effect from AMFQuake, but at the moment I'm not planning to add that nor weather effects, sorry. I've added vertex lighting already, though.

Author:  sputnikutah [ Sat Aug 28, 2004 1:10 pm ]
Post subject:  ugly fat glow

yes heh your right it basically blinds you if you use gl_flashblend 0,
and no i hadnt added corona effects either, but hmm whats vertex lighting compared to the normal way?

Author:  Jozsef [ Sat Aug 28, 2004 2:55 pm ]
Post subject: 

vertex lighting only affects alias models, just check out your weapon models for example under different lighting conditions how cool it looks!

Author:  sputnikutah [ Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:18 pm ]
Post subject:  vertex light

Ahh, ok i got ya
I tried to add colored vertex lighting to joequake but got lost
some thing that would be effected by lit files and dynamic glows :/

maybe ill try again when i learn more on that ;)

Author:  Jozsef [ Sun Aug 29, 2004 2:38 pm ]
Post subject: 

models are already affected by static colored lights even in this current version of joequake, but in the next release they'll be by dynamic lights as well.

by the way, the lightning sparks do work, but it freezes after changing levels, didnt this occur to you either...?

Author:  sputnikutah [ Mon Aug 30, 2004 2:38 am ]
Post subject:  lg spark

ya I got lockup when i discharged in water...

hmmmm back to the dynamic coloredlights...

my gun doesnt change colors based on the light from lit, and EF_BLUE doesnt make entities overlay with a blue color, unless my EF_BLUE is outshined by EF_DIMLIGHT of the player carrying a CTF FLAG (IE the blue flag)

But, i wanted to make healthboxes/ammoboxes dark in shadows or lit overlayed... not important but looks cool..

Screenshots of beta?? :wink:

Author:  sputnikutah [ Tue Aug 31, 2004 8:20 pm ]
Post subject:  dynamic light stuff

ok, ive added the vertiex lights from lits to models and also dynamic lights on models...

problem i am having is that my particle shaft emits a dynamic light lt_blue
if i aim at lets say red armor or quad model that model looses it vibrant ambientlight and is replaced with less bright blue light...
//ambient += add is the bottom line
if i ambient += (originallight / 3)
it looks ok but still i either loose the color or i loose the brightness of the environment lighting ... ill have to tweak some more...
i'll let u know if i get a viable solution... :P

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/