Rune Central http://runequake.com/forums/ |
|
What is switch firing (+sattack)? http://runequake.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=1211 |
Page 1 of 2 |
Author: | Fuzznut [ Fri Sep 01, 2006 12:11 pm ] |
Post subject: | |
I must know more of this +SAttack you speak of. |
Author: | Baker [ Fri Sep 01, 2006 6:42 pm ] |
Post subject: | |
http://www.runequake.com/docs/Playing.htm Quote: Switch Firing
------------- Unlike in normal Quake, impulses work even when you are attacking. For most people, the most important thing this will affect is that you can use your rune even while attacking. Eg, if you shoot a rocket and then activate the shield rune, the shield will come up immediately rather than waiting until the rocket animation finishes. Additionally, if you're using a complex binding scheme to do client side switch firing, it will generally work better because the only time an impulse command is lost is when two are sent in the same game tick. Use the "wait" command to make sure the impulses each arrive in a different tick. There's a server side switch firing system in place to allow easier and more robust quick-rocket and quick-grenade and the like bindings. Eg: bind s +sattack7 // quick rocket bind d +sattack6 // quick grenade You can use +sattack1 (axe) through +sattack8 (lightning gun) for the normal weapons, and +sattack9 (grappling hook) through sattack16 (BFG) for the alternate weapons. You can also bind to +sattack-best to have it choose your best safe close-combat weapon (as the best-weapon command would choose). The idea for server side switch firing came from Expert Quake. Part of what they were trying to solve is mostly fixed by my other impulse command change, but I implemented the switch firing anyway because dropped impulses are still a problem. The way I currently use this is my main attack binding uses +sattack-best, and I also use separate keys for firing rockets and grenades (and slightly harder to reach bindings for firing bombs, the BFG, flash grenades and mortars). Using +sattack-best rather than +attack means I'm never in danger of zapping myself under water. This isn't perfect, though, because there's no way to override the game's idea of what weapon is best (other than via the weapon-mode hints), so it's inconvenient to stop using the flaming guns while berserk, eg. I hope to make this more configurable in the future. |
Author: | Fuzznut [ Sat Sep 02, 2006 5:49 am ] |
Post subject: | |
If I understand this right this binds certain keys to rl or gl for one quick shot then switch back to whatever weapon was selected before? I use WASD setup for movement. So binding something to S or A is outta the question. How would I go about binding a quickshot gl to my Z key? Bind z +sattack6 // quick grenade? |
Author: | Fuzznut [ Sat Sep 02, 2006 5:56 am ] |
Post subject: | |
I've tried this out and it does work. I now have quick grenade bound to a key. I'll experiment more with this as I get use to it. Any suggestions? |
Author: | Baker [ Sat Sep 02, 2006 6:39 am ] |
Post subject: | |
I use this ... BIND CTRL "IMPULSE 7" BIND ALT "BESTWEAPON 8 5 4 3 2 1" < --- ProQuake/JoeQuake 0.15/Qrack only BIND SHIFT +SATTACK6 Bestweapon is somewhat similar to Yugo's impulse 10 but I think most players prefer bestweapon over impulse 10. Bestweapon 8 5 4 3 2 1 selects whatever weapon is available in that order, in this case it selects the lightning gun (8 ) or super nail (5), etc. based on which one has ammo, so if I have the lightning gun and cells for it, it always selects the lightning gun. This reduces the number of keys I need. Anyone not using a setup similar to the one Yugo indicated or mine is going to have to press 1 thru 8, which is a long and slow trip on the keyboard, so they aren't going to be able to switch weapons as quickly. But my +sattack6 is a little different ... Code: alias +sattack6 "-attack;wait;impulse 6;wait;+attack"
alias -sattack6 "-attack;wait;bestweapon 7 8 5 4 3 2 1" This means that my +sattack6 works on any server, including non-RuneQuake/xCTF/IHOC ones. / note that if I connect to any of the servers that support +sattack6, it actually wipes my aliases, but I have a key that re-executes my config.cfg that I can press if that happens. |
Author: | Fuzznut [ Sat Sep 02, 2006 7:38 am ] |
Post subject: | |
Thanks for your suggestions Baker, although ctrl alt and shift are kinda in awkward positions for me.I'll experiment. |
Author: | steve [ Sat Sep 02, 2006 9:42 am ] |
Post subject: | |
I've never used any of these special commands in my game, and I always use the axe hook (press 1 twice) and I get along just fine Someone can help me here though.. I used to have an alias set up for when I join RuneQuake servers alias "impulse 22" "impulse 1;wait;impulse 1;" to mimic the axe hook command from ctf servers. The problem is when used it doesn't always work properly. Sometimes it would only change to axe and not to the hook. Any ideas on how to create this alias to make sure it always works? I stopped using it because I'd be in the middle of a fight and instead of the hook coming up the axe would come up |
Author: | CrAzIcRaCkEr [ Sat Sep 02, 2006 11:36 am ] |
Post subject: | |
I was a big CTF player in the beginning of my quake life. I used this alias to work on both Rune servers and CTF servers... +hook impulse 1; wait; wait; impulse1; +attack -hook -attack;bestweapon 8 5 4 3 2 1 There are two wait commands because servers need at least 1 cpu tic to pass by before it would accept another command sometimes it would drop a packet that contained my wait command, so another was needed. When joining a runesever, of course your +hook command would be overridden by the rune server, but the +hook runeserver command is almost identical to the above (server side). You need to re-execute your config as Baker suggest when using this method. Also need to make a bind of course bind favoritekeyhere +hook One last note on scripts. In the beginning of quake days our PC's were Pentium I&II's. Horsepower was a very big issue. The more scripts you ran the slower your refresh rates ended up being. This is not a problem today, but it is still worthy of noting. Cc |
Author: | Fuzznut [ Sun Sep 03, 2006 10:13 pm ] |
Post subject: | |
My GL quick attack bind doesn't work on servers like Bomber. Is this where I use the Code: alias +sattack6 "-attack;wait;impulse 6;wait;+attack"
alias -sattack6 "-attack;wait;bestweapon 7 8 5 4 3 2 1" But say I have it bounded to the "Z" key? I change 'impulse 6' to 'impulse Z'? What the "-attack;wait;" part for? |
Author: | Baker [ Mon Sep 04, 2006 12:04 am ] |
Post subject: | |
bind z +sattack6 |
Author: | Fuzznut [ Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:14 am ] |
Post subject: | |
OK. Thanks Baker. |
Author: | CrAzIcRaCkEr [ Mon Sep 04, 2006 3:16 am ] |
Post subject: | |
You bind keys to aliases/commands... You write aliases to do all your work. +sattacks are aliases (server side). There is always an action when turning it on then an action when turning it off. Each alias having an on and off position. On being the +whatever. Off being the -whatever. You can roll your own alias and integrate other aliases into it. For example: +moveinforward +forward; color 0 0 - moveinforward - forward; color 1 1 +movenfire +moveinforward;+sattack6 -movenfire -moveinforward; +sattack7 +movenrljumpgrenade +jump;+sattack7;wait;+movenfire -movenrljumpgrenade -jump;-movenfire bind "z" +movenrljumpgrenade In the above example I created essentially 3 aliases and 1 bind. You only bind your on alias to a key. So I bound the +movenrljumpgrenade to the Z key. Your off alias "-movenrljumpgrenade" will execute when you let go of the key/button. Now to step through what your z key will do in the above example (try to follow): when you hit the z key and hold it down...it will move your guy forward, change your colors to white, jump, fire a rocket, wait for a moment, and pitch a grenade. When you let go of the Z key it will stop moving forward, stop shooting rl and gl, and change your color to brown. I could of just did this alias: +myattack +forward; color 0 0; +jump; +sattack6; wait; +sattack7 -myattack -forward; color 1 1; -jump This essentially does the same thing. I just wanted to demonstrate that you can embed one alias into another alias, into another alias and it will all still work. You can name your own alias names as long as they don't already exist server side. Server side aliases will always supercede client side aliases. The quake command guide is actually just a bunch of server side aliases that either come by default with quake or has been built by Developers like Slot to do special common quake game task (Like +sattacks and +Hook) The +hook alias removes you from needing the commonly written "impulse1; wait; impulse1; +attack". That is the norm on CTF servers. With your config you can create any combination of aliases on your end (client side) that will effectively use these commands to your advantage. Some people think that this is cheating, but its not. You are just simplifying common quake game play task. Finally the bind command has always been fickle to me. Sometimes Quake likes the key in qoutes, sometimes not. No quotes: bind z +sattack6 with quotes: bind "z" +sattack6 If you can't get one to work....try the other... Finally in your example...the wait is needed because it tells the server that you have let go of this key and are now capable of hitting another key. Of course impulse 6 is like holding the number 6 down on your keyboard. You need to tell the server that you have released this key....hence the wait command must be executed next... Hope this helps someone! Cc |
Author: | Fuzznut [ Tue Sep 05, 2006 4:21 am ] |
Post subject: | |
bind z +sattack6 alias +sattack6 "-attack;wait;impulse 6;wait;+attack" I put this in my autoexec.cfg but when I got onto bomber my ping was 300+ and my guy went nutso shooting and wouldn't stop until someone told me to type -attack in console. I removed it and things went back to normal. |
Author: | Baker [ Tue Sep 05, 2006 5:06 am ] |
Post subject: | |
Baker wrote: ....
BIND SHIFT +SATTACK6 ... But my +sattack6 is a little different ... Code: alias +sattack6 "-attack;wait;impulse 6;wait;+attack" alias -sattack6 "-attack;wait;bestweapon 7 8 5 4 3 2 1" You have to use the whole thing. If you don't have the -sattack6 alias in your config, your player will never stop firing. |
Author: | Baker [ Tue Sep 05, 2006 8:38 am ] |
Post subject: | |
steve wrote: I've never used any of these special commands in my game, and I always use the axe hook (press 1 twice) and I get along just fine
Someone can help me here though.. I used to have an alias set up for when I join RuneQuake servers alias "impulse 22" "impulse 1;wait;impulse 1;" to mimic the axe hook command from ctf servers. The problem is when used it doesn't always work properly. Sometimes it would only change to axe and not to the hook. Any ideas on how to create this alias to make sure it always works? I stopped using it because I'd be in the middle of a fight and instead of the hook coming up the axe would come up Steve, try this ... Code: alias "weapon9" "impulse 22"
bind "a" weapon9 That should make the "a" key select the hook on both RuneQuake and CTF servers as I believe "weapon9" will select the hook on Rune Quake servers. |
Author: | Fuzznut [ Wed Sep 06, 2006 5:53 pm ] |
Post subject: | |
Baker wrote: Baker wrote: .... BIND SHIFT +SATTACK6 ... But my +sattack6 is a little different ... Code: alias +sattack6 "-attack;wait;impulse 6;wait;+attack" alias -sattack6 "-attack;wait;bestweapon 7 8 5 4 3 2 1" You have to use the whole thing. If you don't have the -sattack6 alias in your config, your player will never stop firing. Thanks Baker. I'll give this another try. |
Author: | Ole' Hog Bowel [ Thu Sep 07, 2006 2:56 pm ] |
Post subject: | |
Try this: "-attack;wait;impulse 6;wait;+attack" alias -sattack6 "-attack;wait;bestweapon 7 8 5 4 3 2 1" alias "weapon9" "impulse 22" bind "a" weapon9 bind z +sattack6 alias +sattack6 "-attack;wait;impulse 6;wait;+attack" +moveinforward +forward; color 0 0 - moveinforward - forward; color 1 1 +movenfire +moveinforward;+sattack6 -movenfire -moveinforward; +sattack7 +movenrljumpgrenade +jump;+sattack7;wait;+movenfire -movenrljumpgrenade -jump;-movenfire bind "z" +movenrljumpgrenade bind s +sattack7 // quick rocket bind d +sattack6 // quick grenade BIND CTRL "IMPULSE 7" BIND ALT "BESTWEAPON 8 5 4 3 2 1" < --- ProQuake/JoeQuake 0.15/Qrack only BIND SHIFT +SATTACK6 +hook impulse 1; wait; wait; impulse1; +attack -hook -attack;bestweapon 8 5 4 3 2 1 alias +sattack6 "-attack;wait;impulse 6;wait;+attack" alias -sattack6 "-attack;wait;bestweapon 7 8 5 4 3 2 1" |
Author: | Fuzznut [ Sat Sep 09, 2006 5:26 am ] |
Post subject: | |
Fuzznut wrote: Baker wrote: Baker wrote: .... BIND SHIFT +SATTACK6 ... But my +sattack6 is a little different ... Code: alias +sattack6 "-attack;wait;impulse 6;wait;+attack" alias -sattack6 "-attack;wait;bestweapon 7 8 5 4 3 2 1" You have to use the whole thing. If you don't have the -sattack6 alias in your config, your player will never stop firing. Thanks Baker. I'll give this another try. Thanks Baker. This worked. We should set up another TU - SNS match sometime soon. |
Author: | Baker [ Sat Sep 09, 2006 7:51 am ] |
Post subject: | |
Fuzznut wrote: Thanks Baker. This worked. Glad it worked for you. Quote: We should set up another TU - SNS match sometime soon.
I agree. It is sort of unfortunate that the discussion of "what mod to play next" came up. The reason is that people underestimate how incredibly difficult it is to get these things setup to begin with. The SNS vs. TU match was something that was talked about for nearly 5 months before it actually happened. |
Author: | Fuzznut [ Sat Sep 09, 2006 12:50 pm ] |
Post subject: | |
Baker wrote: Fuzznut wrote: Thanks Baker. This worked. Glad it worked for you. Quote: We should set up another TU - SNS match sometime soon. I agree. It is sort of unfortunate that the discussion of "what mod to play next" came up. The reason is that people underestimate how incredibly difficult it is to get these things setup to begin with. The SNS vs. TU match was something that was talked about for nearly 5 months before it actually happened. CA mod is fine with us. |
Page 1 of 2 | All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ] |
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group https://www.phpbb.com/ |